Aggressive Driving Ticket



Points: 6 points
Insurance Increase: Yes
Jail/Probation: 12 months
Fine: Up to $1000.00
Relevant Statute:O.C.G.A. 40-6-397(a)
A person commits the offense of aggressive driving when he or she operates any motor vehicle with the intent to annoy, harass, molest, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another person, including without limitation violating Code Section 40-6-42, 40-6-48, 40-6-49, 40-6-123, 40-6-184, 40-6-312, or 40-6-390 with such intent.An aggressive driving charge is usually added on to one of the following traffic violations listed in the statute:

  • Speeding
  • Overtaking or passing improperly
  • Driving on the right side of the road
  • Following too closely
  • Improper lane change
  • Impeding the flow of traffic
  • Improper operation of a motorcycle
  • Reckless driving

However, an aggressive driving charge can stand alone as a traffic ticket.  As long as the driver used his car to harass, molest, intimidate, injure, or obstruct another, a police officer can issue a traffic ticket for aggressive driving in Georgia.

Aggressive driving is considered to be a ticket of a high and aggravated misdemeanor in Georgia.

Contact Us
Contact Goldstein Law Group LLC online or at 678-757-5529 to schedule your free initial consultation. Helping Atlanta, Georgia drivers get on with their lives one traffic ticket at a time.